Customer Support

2020 Colorado Natural Gas Rate Review (Phase I and II)

At Xcel Energy, we work every day to provide the reliable energy that our customers depend on. Our 2020 rate proposal to the Colorado Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) includes investments for a safer, more reliable and cleaner natural gas system. That means we’re investing in strengthening the natural gas system, improving resiliency and reducing emissions on our system.

March 2021 Update

This rate review was approved Oct. 12, 2020, by the CPUC, based on an unopposed settlement agreement. Customers will see a change on their bills beginning April 1, 2021. These changes are not related to the February 2021 cold weather event.

New rates became effective Nov. 1, 2020; to avoid higher customer bills during the pandemic, the increase was deferred by the Commission until April 1, 2021. A Rate Deferral Surcharge (RDS) will be charged in April, May, September, October and November 2021, and March, April, May, September and October 2022. These “shoulder” months in fall and spring were chosen because bills are typically lower between the winter heating and summer cooling seasons.

Annualized Bill Impacts, 2020 Phase I and II Natural Gas Rate Review (with and without Rate Deferral Surcharge, or RDS)

Residential with RDS

Residential - no RDS

Small commercial with RDS

Small Commercial - no RDS

Full details, including bill impacts for all customer classes, are included in a compliance filing dated March 15, 2021, which can be found on the “Documents” tab below or at the CPUC website (external link). Search for Proceeding No. 21AL-0113G.

Compliance Filing Advice Letter (PDF)

Compliance Filing Attachment D - Bill Impacts (PDF)

2020 Gas RC ALJ Decision (PDF)

2020 Gas Rate Review News Release (PDF)

2020 Gas Rate Review Fact Sheet (PDF)

Bill Onsert and Legal Notice

Advice Letter

Legal Notice

Trammel Direct Testimony
Litteken Direct Testimony
 Berman Direct Testimony
Soong Direct Testimony
 Bulkley Direct Testimony  Wold Direct Testimony
Watson Direct Testimony
 Schmidt Direct Testimony
 Dietenberger Direct Testimony
Koneru Direct Testimony
  Knoll Direct Testimony  Schrubbe Direct Testimony
Koch Direct Testimony
Marks Direct Testimony
 Blair Direct Testimony
Wishart Direct Testimony
   
Energy Saving Tip Icon

Energy Saving Tip

Want to make a strong statement about energy efficiency? Consider whether your home might be a good candidate for a green roof, solar panels, or a geothermal system.

chat bubble logo

Break Ground, Not the Law

Always call 811 before digging in your yard to avoid hitting buried gas or electric lines. Not only is it the safe thing to do, but it's the law.